Let’s face the Truth!

I AM WASTING MY TIME HERE!~

Yes, I am frustrated at the moment. Very, very frustrated. Frustrated because of this so called fuss aka engineering.

Apparently, I was very eager to get into engineering. It appeared, that this will be heaven, we will have much fun (as I had while studying computer science in 11th and 12th). But now, the picture is completely different. What we are studying is entirely irrelevant, completely unrelated to engineering, let alone computers.

Yes and as each day passes, a strong feeling is growing inside me, that I don’t belong here. The only lectures which I enjoy are maths lectures, and they never cease to amuse me. And with each that lecture, I feel that I should be studying mathematics. And yes, I am very very serious about this.

Okay, I haven’t watched much movies, I don’t even like watching them. I don’t even know the names of the movie actors. But I know the names of mathematicians and their contributions (as much as I understand). And I feel, they are a lot more significant then those penny-worth actors/actresses.

I don’t know the famous dialogues from those films, but I know “I have discovered a truly marvelous proof of this, which this margin is too narrow to contain.” and “Mathematics is not yet ripe for such problems”  and ~  quotes.

There are many examples which I want to add, but I will do that later.

And yes, I have very much decided that I belong to the field of maths and I will try to contribute to (at least learn) as much as I can.

And yes, I want to quit this engineering and do maths, now. Like, NOW! But I won’t. Not only because it’s socially unacceptable to quit, but also because I don’t want to quit like a loser. I wanted engineering because of MY choice. I tried hard (well, not really. ;D ) to get into this so called best college. So, I will complete this. And I will complete this with a good results.

But after that, kthnxbye engineering. I will study maths.

And the very purpose of writing this post is (except drawing out my frustration 😀 ) is that I want to make a public record of this fact that I felt this at some point on the time axis. And later, after 3.5 years, when there might be a situation, when I might get confused (because of distractions like Campus interviews and ~), I want you (yes, YOU) to give me the link to this post and say, “Remember? You wanted to do Math. Now don’t Q_Q, just go, that calculus is waiting to get studied from you!”.

Okay, and now I am feeling much better than earlier, after having shared this here. Your suggestions and comments are always welcomed.

P.S. I love you, maths. 🙂

5 Responses to Let’s face the Truth!

  1. Couple of months and you’re already onto a blog post. Been there since 2005 now. And oh I would so like to switch places with you to give my Math, which would be MY frustrating purpose, if ever, to write a post upon like this.

  2. taninamdar says:

    Hi NiSh.
    I know, for a person like you who is in the last year of engineering, this would sound like a crybaby.
    But my point is, this was supposedly the best college in Mumbai for engineering. And for important topics, they are telling to self study. And the crap which we have to cram under the name of ‘Applied Physics’ and ‘Applied Chemistry’ has nothing to do with application as well as Physics/Chemistry. :/
    And moreover, on the other side the urge to do maths. 😀
    Also, I would gladly swap positions with you. Seems like you don’t have any problem with going through this engg again. 😛

  3. Uh no, it’d only be a one-way switch! I’m not going back to all that crap again please. Everything I’ve done twice, once in diploma and again in degree, and still I suck at it and kept getting stuck. At least you’ll make it through sooner than the amount of time I’ve spent struggling. And it is only once you get into this that you realize it wasn’t really the kind of ‘computer’ engineering that it seemed to be, at least until the final 1 or 2 years when something sensible and worthwhile appears in the syllabus.

  4. taninamdar says:

    Ikr, that’s why I asked you, lol.
    Actually me and Petey are seeing this sentence as the ray of hope, lul.
    “At least until the final 1 or 2 years when something sensible and worthwhile appears in the syllabus.”

    • Well erm, because at least you no longer have Physics and Chemistry or Math. Just computer networks, operating systems, web technology, SQL, microprocessors, robotics, etc. which you might like if you begin to take interest in it.

Leave a comment